quick shot: hoisting hardware

Fantasy Sports Tarnation Great finish this season for hockey, can’t complain about my personal comeback any more than I could about that of some of my “star” players, like Ovechkin. The gap between the top three teams and the rest of the league ending the regular season was worse than the mid-season split and the seeding in the playoffs worked I think to my advantage greatly because of how things shuffled out. It was certainly not what I expected when I was sitting in third.

On the offensive side of the stats I did kick myself for dropping Mike Green (Wash-D) at the first sign of injury earlier in the season after how he lit up the lamp later on however, I made up for it by grabbing Bret Burns (SJ-D) when the Sharks moved him from blueliner to forward and he went on a tear. Everyone else put up what they were supposed to, though, Ribs (Wash-C) and Miks (Min-C) were maybe quieter than I’d’ve preferred and there was definitely some other positional underplaying. On D the stats came in about where I expected, it was more the offensive output of my blueliners that continued to carry them. While on the note of Goalies I pretty much just gave up and rode it out with Howard most of the way. I took a chance on some guys, I got continually burned. Oh well… full lineups after the jump

Stats among forwards
LW Alex Ovechkin (Wash)
LW Zach Parise (Min)
LW Matt Moulson (NYI)
C/LW Patrick Marleau (SJ)
C Mike Ribeiro (Wash)
C Mikko Koivu (Min)
C/RW Claude Giroux (Phi)
RW Phil Kessle (Tor)
RW Blake Wheeler (Win)
RW Jordan Eberle (Edm)

Stats among defense
D Dustin Byfuglien (Win)
D Keith Yandle (Pho)
D Slava Voynov (LA)
D Bret Burns (SJ)
D Sami Salo (Tam)
D Raphael Diaz (Mon)

Goalies
G Jimmy Howard (Det)
G Jake Allen (StL)

You’ll notice, for a change, no one killing me by sitting on the DL. That was nice, too.

And, on the note of hockey, I’ll pretty much lift my boycott of writing about it now and get back to the usually non-sensical rants about how awesome the Caps are and lamenting the lack of a Habs Cup and missives about the stupid things the league does. I’ve had too much fun this season (despite everything the NHL did to make me want to hate it), to continue ignoring my interest in hockey (or relegating my interest to the AHL/KHL).

About thedoormouse

I am I. That’s all that i am. my little mousehole in cyberspace of fiction, recipes, sacrasm, op-ed on music, sports, and other notations both grand and tiny: https://thedmouse.wordpress.com/about-thedmouse/
This entry was posted in Quick Shot - Fantasy Sports Wrapup, sports commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to quick shot: hoisting hardware

  1. Pingback: quick shot: skating away to hockeyville | doormouse's declarations & personal musings

Leave a Reply

