mixtape: memorial memories

Recently, someone very special to me lost someone very special to them. At the funeral the military sent over an honor guard to memorialize his service during the second World War. As they saluted, and fired shots, and folded the flag, I was reminded of my own family members who served our great Nation to secure the future I have today. We still have my Grandfather’s flag displayed proudly and every time I see it it reminds me of growing up with him and what a great patriarch he was for our family. There’s a lot of different ways to go about honoring Memorial Day. Sure, you can do the BBQ, beers and bikini celebration to the beginning of summer, and many people do, but in the spirit of the holiday I am choosing to take a slightly different route in it. In years past I’ve done everything from odes to war to an ode to Americana, so this year I’m once again taking a lightly different approach, see if you enjoy it and can figure out the lose theme to this years approach:

the Andrew Sisters “Boogie Woogie Bugle boy”
Sleep Station “a Soldier’s Dream”
CCR “Fortunate Son”
Foo Fighters “There Goes My Hero”
Iced Earth “Watching Over Me”
Bouncing Souls “Letter from Iraq”
Bad Religion “All Good Soldiers”
As I Lay Dying “Behind me Lies Another Fallen Soldier”
Shadows Fall “Another Hero Lost”
P J Harvey feat. John Parish “the Soldier”
Johnny Cash “Ballad of Ira Hayes”
Tori Amos “Silent After All These Years”
Rise Against “Hero of War” (Acoustic Version)
the Beatles “a Day in the Life”
Count Basie feat. Oscar Peterson “Memories of You”
the Cranberries “Zombie”
Apostate “Raised on the Blood of Heroes”

As always, if you think I missed something and have a suggestion I’d love to see it in the comments or a DM.

About thedoormouse

I am I. That’s all that i am. my little mousehole in cyberspace of fiction, recipes, sacrasm, op-ed on music, sports, and other notations both grand and tiny: https://thedmouse.wordpress.com/about-thedmouse/
This entry was posted in Entertainment, mixtape. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

