recipe: Frittata a casa

Weekends around here are usually started out with me cooking eggs. Not just any eggs, a dish I grew up with, although not as a weekend meal. When I was growing up, my first memory of “eggs casserole” was based on a dish that included canned sardines which my mom made from memories of my grandfather. I still associate the entire dish as a comfort food. There’s nothing better than sardines and eggs and olive oil and it doesn’t matter how you make them. Fine, judge. I don’t care, they are good ingreds.

With the post-50s definition of the frit being an “open faced omelette” that Italians, Iberians and Americans could equally embrace and my love of fusioning my own food to what I know and what I find comfortable from watching my family cook, I brought the Frittata a casa into the mix. But the Frittata a casa isn’t a recipe, it’s an idea in this case. One that is bound, like my grandma’s crowded soup, to that of whatever you have you make the dish with.

To that end, I have a very interesting way of setting up the base, and thus the filling which I think is interesting to share. I prefer a 1:1 mixture of eggs mixture to filling, however you choose to define how they fit together based on how much eggs you want compared to filling, I do by “volume” as I can appreciate that in the raw form, per-combination of the mixes (parts). I also believe that the combination needs to include the aeration, it makes the eggs “puff” and brings volume where there wouldn’t be (quiche or souffle in idea). I also do my entire cook on the stove-top, with preferably cast-iron that includes a well fitting top, as opposed to many who start on the range and drop into the oven to finish – acceptable for sure, but not how I was taught in those Iberian recipes.

egg mix
eggs
salt
pepper
olive oil
milk or milk substitute

Combine the entire above and heavily beat by hand until foam begins to form atop of the mixture, this is the eggwhites peaking (see notes below)

I put the oil in now because it helps as the eggs set prevent sticking and creates an equilibrium, as does the basic other flavors.

If you are going to add dried herbs, or certain fresh ingreds like garlic, onion, etc., that can use the extra time macerating I would suggest you add them at this point as well and provide them with the ability to meld into the eggs during the come up to room temperature process.

Allow the egg mixture to set up coming to room temperature (about 50 degrees). Cold eggs will not set up the same in the pan and the process of bringing them above most frig temps will be beneficial.

“Italian” mix

NOLA mix

Iberian minha família

About thedoormouse

I am I. That’s all that i am. my little mousehole in cyberspace of fiction, recipes, sacrasm, op-ed on music, sports, and other notations both grand and tiny: https://thedmouse.wordpress.com/about-thedmouse/
This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to recipe: Frittata a casa

  1. Pingback: recipe: milho assado, feijão preto, caldo couve | doormouse's declarations & personal musings

Leave a Reply

