mixtape: eleven

Normally, Fridays are for SPAM but not today. Today’s Friday is about smelling the glove – the musical version of spam, perhaps, but let’s not go there…

Originally, I was going to support Mr. Nigel Tufnel with a mix of track elevens because any album that goes up to eleven must be really freakin’ loud. Then I realized a couple of things, such as not enough really rocking albums do go to track eleven, and those albums that do don’t have a rockin enough track eleven. Thus, discounting what could have been a brutally easy list of do a sort and search for slaying elevens.

Since we need to crank it up for the haberdasher, or maybe like a, uh, um… a chapeau shop keeper or something… it should be in D minor which is the saddest of all keys, I find. People weep instantly when they hear it, and I don’t know why. It’s like a Mach piece, really. It’s sort of… for people who just was like a flash of green light. And that was it. Nothing was left. It was more of a stain than a globule, actually… and that’s what would happen if we cranked these bad boys up to eleven.

Sure, I’m SURE I missed someone’s favorite. That’s fine, you add your rockers to the bottom in the comments and maybe I’ll go out and buy them sometime 😉 as long as the album cover is all back, so that there’s none more black…

AC/DC “Hells Bells”
Machine Head “Fireball”
Black Sabbath “Paranoid”
Judas Priest “Breakin the Law”
Iron Maiden “the Number of the Beast”
Metallica “Seek & Destroy”
Megadeth “Peace Sells”
Megadeth “Ace of Spades”
Mountain “Never in My Live”
Ozzy (w. Randy Rhodes) “Crazy Train”
Anthrax ” ”
Testament “Into the Pit”
Slayer “Raining Blood”
At the Gates “Slaughter of the Soul”
Sepultura “Refuse / Resist”
Machine Head “Davidian”
Pantera “Cowboys from Hell”
Lamb of God “Something to Die For”

oh, and FYI, I am WELL aware how cliche’d a list like this is… that’s why its freakin fun to make, if you could see me jumping around the apartment screaming along, air drumming (boy do I miss my drumset) and utterly enjoying each of these as I compose the it you’d understand… and as for anyone saying I should do something for the vets and the troops, I’ve done that in years past for many a holiday and, believe me, of the vets and troops I know, they’d well receive a list like this, chances are, too many of these songs are their daily listening as that’s unfortunately have with them…

About thedoormouse

I am I. That’s all that i am. my little mousehole in cyberspace of fiction, recipes, sacrasm, op-ed on music, sports, and other notations both grand and tiny: https://thedmouse.wordpress.com/about-thedmouse/
This entry was posted in Entertainment, mixtape. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

