mixtape: fuze-i-on fusion

I have pretty eclectic music tastes. The kind where if you didn’t know better you might stare at parts of my music collect and wonder how to get from one artist to the next. Mostly, I don’t treat my music as singular genres and I rarely keep it organized alphabetically so figuring out how I might hear things going together is simply looking at how things are arranged be it on the shelf or in the digital library (that breaks many conventions of genre-fication)

In two parts I break down the depth and breath of what fusion means to me, from the early avante-jazz to the metallic counterparts of the modern composition and a few odd stops in between, so therefore, two parts of twelve covering the range of sonic anomolies that to me make up the bulk of why I listen to both as “genres” no matter how different or the same each are from both themselves and one another. There’s a part of me that can’t understand why you could enjoy one and dislike the other but the pragmatic me gets that there’s elements of each that can be so unweildy. I tried to make the mix circular so you could literally go from any point and come back to any point and potentially enjoy it…

Part one:
Miles Davis “Miles Runs the Voodoo Down”
Pat Metheny “As it is”
the Mahavishnu Orchestra “One Word”
Weather Report “Black Market”
Return to Forever “Vulcan Words”
Headhunters “God Make Me Crazy”
the Dixi Dregs “Cruise Control”
Frank Zappa “Watermelon in Easter Hay”
Joe Satriani “Time Machine”
Steve Vai “Now We Run”
Animals as Leaders “Tempting Time”
Exivious “Ripple of a Tear”

Part Two:
Cynic “Veil of Maya”
Atheist “Water”
Death “Scavenger of Human Sorrow”
Between the Buried and Me “Alaska”
Yakuza “Chicago Typewriter”
East of the Wall “Linear Failure”
Into the Moat “Beyond Treachery”
the Dillinger Escape Plan “Sunshine the Werewolf”
the Number Twelve Looks Like You “Imagine Nation Express”
Glass Casket “Pencil Lead Syringe”
Cryptopsy “Silence the Tyrants”
Candiria “Temple of Sickness”

About thedoormouse

I am I. That’s all that i am. my little mousehole in cyberspace of fiction, recipes, sacrasm, op-ed on music, sports, and other notations both grand and tiny: https://thedmouse.wordpress.com/about-thedmouse/
This entry was posted in Entertainment, mixtape. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

