mixtape: seven’s in heaven

I adore odd time signatures. I grew up around music of all kinds, from my dad’s instrument that he joked was tuning the radio to playing percussion from my youngest memories of childhood to a decade and a half working in the industry helping other musicians have wonderful careers. I fell in love with sound and the way it was crafted and how it was expressed and what it did to me. There was something about the just-off feeling of odd-time signatures in music that makes them exceptionally attractive. Early on I found works like Stravinsky and Brubeck and Rush that not only used odd times but abused them to the point of being so intriguing I couldn’t help but fall in love.

On the train today, allowing my mix to happen completely at random initially, I ran into triple shot of songs that spurred this mix to take me through the rest of the day… and what a great experience it was.

“All You Need is Love” by the Beatles
“Solsbury Hill” by Peter Gaberiel
“The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus)” by Yes
“Money” by Pink Floyd
“Estimated Prophet” by the Grateful Dead
“Diary of a Madman” by Ozzy
“Brighter than a Thousand Suns” by Iron Maiden
“Metropolis” by Dream Theater
“Tom Sawyer” by Rush
“Engine” by Haste
“Outshined” by Soundgarden
“Them Bones” by Alice In Chains
“March of the Pigs” by Nine Inch Nails
“2 + 2 = 5” by Radiohead

and I’m sure there’s more I wasn’t remembering off hand (without duplicating Rush, Haste, DT and Soundgarden too many times)

About thedoormouse

I am I. That’s all that i am. my little mousehole in cyberspace of fiction, recipes, sacrasm, op-ed on music, sports, and other notations both grand and tiny: https://thedmouse.wordpress.com/about-thedmouse/
This entry was posted in Entertainment, mixtape. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

